Cybercriminals still targeting UAE Ministry
by This email address is being protected from spam bots, you need Javascript enabled to view it on Thursday, 04 December 2008
Cybercriminals continue to target the UAE Ministry of Education by setting up a fake website and luring teachers to apply for job vacancies that don’t exist.
Postings on educational websites, including ESL-Library.com and TopSchoolJobs.com, invite candidates to apply for ESL teaching opportunities at the bogus UAE Education Studies, “…a newly established institute located at: P.O.Box 295 Dubai”.
Offering a one year contract with a monthly salary of more than AED 16,000 ($4,400) with accommodation, interested applicants are asked to email their details to
This email address is being protected from spam bots, you need Javascript enabled to view it
and visit the bogus website - www.ministryofeducationuaes.tk - for more information.
The website, which itp.net explored before a call for its block was announced, looked almost identical to the Ministry’s actual website with similar logos, images, news, interviews and reports. Despite the obvious security threat it posed, no one at MoE was immediately available for comment.
Earlier this year, a similar phishing scam was identified when a teacher from the United States applied for a position posted on a fake UAE Ministry of Labour website – www.uaeministryoflabour.tk - and became suspicious when a ‘visa fee’ was requested.
At the time, the Ministry of Education swiftly moved into action, releasing a statement confirming that “unknown elements copied its website to establish contact with local and foreign applicants, particularly in the fields of employment,” and the website was subsequently blocked.
In both instances, the websites have the suffix .tk - the registered domain of Pacific island Tokelau, which allows the domain to be used by Dot TK, an Amsterdam-based free domain registration service.
READERS' COMMENTS
Posted by Anon, London, UK on Wednesday 7 January 2009 at 02:39 UAE time
I just saw the website now, it is still in use, what is the UAE government doing in this case? has any action been taken?
Posted by sangeetha on Tuesday 16 December 2008 at 08:33 UAE time
This website looks authentic and still open for conning victims.....
Don't authorities read ITP News / Comments????
Posted by Haisan, AUH, UAE on Sunday 14 December 2008 at 11:53 UAE time
By the way .. the fake site is still up and running.
apparently Etisalat did not block it yet .. don't know what they're waiting for!!!
Click here to post a comment
MORE FROM ARABIANBUSINESS.COM
TOP IN MIDDLE EAST TECHNOLOGY
TOP MIDDLE EAST BUSINESS STORIES
ALSO IN MIDDLE EAST TECHNOLOGY
LATEST MIDDLE EAST BUSINESS NEWS
- Transportation: Logistics firm sees 15% rise in business amid global crisis
- Construction & Industry: Kuwait ready for legal fight over $17.4bn deal
- Transportation: Mideast continues to buck air passenger slump
- Transportation: Kingfisher set to launch new Dubai service
- Technology: Microsoft officially releases Windows 7 beta
RELATED STORIES
Ministry of Education
- Power up
9 Dec '08 | Features - UAE education chief reveals $2bn strategy
17 Nov '08 | News




