UAE, KSA, Bahrain and Egypt issue joint statement in response to CNN

Arab nations accuse Qatar of not fulfilling 2013 pledges
By Staff writer
Tue 11 Jul 2017 08:28 AM

The UAE, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain and Egypt issued a joint statement on Monday saying that the 13 demands submitted to Qatar were a reminder to Doha to meet its pledges agreed under the 2013 Riyadh Agreement.

On Monday, CNN published the contents of the 2013 agreement, and were later released on social media by Saudi officials. Yesterday's statement was a response to the documents released by CNN.

Last month, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Bahrain and Egypt broke diplomatic relations and blocked transport routes to Doha due to its support to terror groups and threatening the security in the region.

In joint statement, issued by state news agency WAM, the Arab nations, said: “The four countries assert that the documents published by CNN, including the Riyadh Agreement (2013), its executive mechanism and the Riyadh Supplementary Agreement (2014), confirm beyond any doubt Qatar’s failure to meet its commitments and its full violation of its pledges.

“The four countries emphasise that the 13 demands submitted to the Qatari government were to fulfill their previous pledges and commitments and that the demands were originally stated in the Riyadh Agreement, its mechanism and the supplementary agreement and are fully in line with the spirit of what was agreed upon.”

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Subscribe to Arabian Business' newsletter to receive the latest breaking news and business stories in Dubai,the UAE and the GCC straight to your inbox.