Deported expats will face GCC-wide ban

Countries have already started to share information
British passport
By Staff writer
Thu 13 Nov 2014 02:54 PM

Expats deported from one of the GCC countries will be banned from entering any of the other member countries, according to the General Directorate of Residency and Foreigners Affairs Dubai (GDRFA).

Gulf News reported that the GDRFA, in its magazine Manafez Dubai, said all six GCC countries - Bahrain, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, the UAE and Oman - will begin to apply the law, which it says is based on a security pact signed by the member states.

“Moreover, the country which deports an expatriate will be allowed to take the deportee’s fingerprints and share the information with the rest of the GCC countries,” it said.

The report said GCC countries have been sharing information in relation to drug offenders, including the names of smugglers, their modus operandi and data.

An automatic ban applies to those deported for drug offences, while other instances are considered on a case-by-case basis.

For all the latest travel news from the UAE and Gulf countries, follow us on Twitter and Linkedin, like us on Facebook and subscribe to our YouTube page, which is updated daily.

Last Updated: Thu 26 Jan 2017 01:27 PM GST

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Subscribe to Arabian Business' newsletter to receive the latest breaking news and business stories in Dubai,the UAE and the GCC straight to your inbox.