We noticed you're blocking ads.

Keep supporting great journalism by turning off your ad blocker.

Questions about why you are seeing this? Contact us

Font Size

- Aa +

Sun 27 Mar 2016 02:16 PM

Font Size

- Aa +

FEI confirms Qatar, Palestine to make Olympic debuts at Rio 2016

Palestine to compete in dressage, while Qatar will take part in the jumping competition

FEI confirms Qatar, Palestine to make Olympic debuts at Rio 2016
(Getty Images)

The International Equestrian Federation (FEI) has confirmed that Qatar and Palestine will be among five nations making their Olympic debuts at Rio 2016.

FEI confirmed the equestrian line-up for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games, with Qatar (jumping) and Palestine (dressage) joining Chinese Taipei, Dominican Republic and Zimbabwe in making their debuts. A sixth nation, Uruguay, will also make its debut in the Paralympic equestrian competition, which is dressage only.

The places are allocated to National Olympic and Paralympic Committees, who decide whether to use the quotas and which athletes to send. A total of 43 nations will compete in the Olympic equestrian events, while 30 countries will be represented in the Paralympic events.

“We are thrilled to be welcoming new nations to the Olympic and Paralympic equestrian family,” said FEI President Ingmar De Vos. “The Olympic and Paralympic Games are the pinnacle of our sport and we are looking forward to absolutely top-class equestrian action during both Games.”


Teams: Brazil, Germany, Australia, Great Britain, Netherlands, USA, Spain, Sweden, France, Japan, Denmark.

Individual: Denmark (4), Austria, Belgium, Russia (2), South Africa, Republic of Korea, Canada (2), Dominican Republic, Mexico, Palestine, New Zealand, Italy, Ireland, Switzerland, Ukraine.


Teams: Brazil, Netherlands, France, USA, Germany, Sweden, Qatar, Canada, Argentina, Ukraine, Switzerland, Great Britain, Japan, Australia, Spain.

Individual: Ireland, Portugal, Turkey, Morrocco, Venezuela (2), Colombia (2), Uruguay, Peru, Chinese Tapei, Belgium (2), Italy, Egypt.


Teams: Brazil, Germany, Australia, Great Britain, Netherlands, Ireland, Canada, USA, France, Sweden, New Zealand, Italy, Russia, Switzerland.

Individual: Finland, Italy (3), Russia (3), Chile, Zimbabwe, Japan (2), Belarus, Switzerland (3), Puerto Rico, Ecuador, China, Belgium (2), Spain.

Arabian Business: why we're going behind a paywall

For all the latest sports news from the UAE and Gulf countries, follow us on Twitter and Linkedin, like us on Facebook and subscribe to our YouTube page, which is updated daily.