We noticed you're blocking ads.

Keep supporting great journalism by turning off your ad blocker.

Questions about why you are seeing this? Contact us

Font Size

- Aa +

Wed 24 Oct 2018 10:19 AM

Font Size

- Aa +

UAE adds nine men to list of terrorist supporters

The nine men designated by the Riyadh-based Terrorist Financing Targeting Centre include senior Taliban officials and members of Iran's Revolutionary Guard

UAE adds nine men to list of terrorist supporters
The nine men were designated by the Riyadh-based Terrorist Financing Targeting Centre. Photo by Sean GallupGetty Images

The UAE’s Cabinet has issued a ministerial resolution designating nine individuals to be added to its list of terrorists and terrorist organisations, all of who are alleged to be involved in Iran’s support for the Taliban.

The individuals are Mohammed Ebrahim Owhadi, Esma’il Razavi, Abdullah Samar Farouqi, Mohammad Daoud Muzzami, Abdul Rahim Manan, Mohammad Naim Barich, Abdul Aziz Shah Zamani, Sadr Ibrahim and Hafiz Abdul Majid.

The resolution directs the UAE’s Central Bank to all legal measures to deal with accounted related to these individuals.

All the member states of the Riyadh-based Terrorist Financing Targeting Centre have designated the individuals on their lists of terrorists.

In a statement, the TFTC noted that two of the men are members of Iran’s Revolutionary Guard, one of whom, Mohammed Ebrahim Owhadi, arranged a deal with the Taliban to provide military and financial support in exchange for attacks on government forces in Herat.

Two of the men, Abdullah Samar Farouqi and Mohammad Daoud Muzzamil, are the Taliban’s shadow governors for Herat and Helmand, respectively.

Another, Abdul Aziz Shah Zamani, stands accused of paying the Taliban for protection for his narcotics and gemstones businesses.

"Iran's provision of military training, financing, and weapons to the Taliban is yet another example of Tehran's blatant regional meddling and support for terrorism," said US Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin. "The United States and our partners will not tolerate the Iranian regime exploiting Afghanistan to further their destabilizing behaviour.”

Some of those mentioned were already on US and UN sanctions lists.

The Targeting Centre was launched in May 2017 and includes the United States, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, and the United Arab Emirates.

Arabian Business digital magazine: read the latest edition online

For all the latest GCC news from the UAE and Gulf countries, follow us on Twitter and Linkedin, like us on Facebook and subscribe to our YouTube page, which is updated daily.