Font Size

- Aa +

Sun 4 Aug 2013 11:05 AM

Font Size

- Aa +

Khalifa Fund announces entrepreneurship award

Application process for fourth edition of Khalifa Fund Award for Entrepreneurship is underway

Khalifa Fund announces entrepreneurship award
The award aims to instill a strong spirit of entrepreneurship and foster a culture of leadership.

The Khalifa
Fund for Enterprise Development has announced the launch of the fourth edition
of its Award for Entrepreneurship.

The award
aims to instill a strong spirit of entrepreneurship and foster a culture of
leadership, helping to create a positive competitive  environment among owners of small and medium
sized enterprises (SMEs).

also hope the award will be a stimulus for creativity and innovation,
encouraging and assisting entrepreneurs to turn their ideas into financially
viable projects.

HE Abdullah
Saeed Al Darmaki, CEO of the Khalifa Fund, said: “Our launch of the fourth
edition of this prestigious award reflects our ambitious vision and embodies
our commitment to facilitating knowledge transfer among entrepreneurs.

“This will
cultivate a strong spirit of competitiveness, leading to stronger
entrepreneurial skills, greater efficiency and more prudent investment.

“The SME
sector plays a pivotal role in our economy, and helps to consolidate the
Emirates’ position as a magnet for smart entrepreneurship in the region.”

The jury for the
prize will consist of representatives of the Khalifa Fund, Abu Dhabi Department
of Economic Development, a national bank, and an economic organisation.

The judging
committee’s responsibilities include sorting the applications, conducting
initial evaluations of candidates’ submissions, visiting projects on-site,
interviewing owners, and conducting final screenings before announcing the

Al Darmaki added: “To
ensure complete transparency and credibility in the selection of winners, the
jury will base their decisions on a comprehensive criteria evaluating the
business owners’ entrepreneurial skills, personal attributes and project
excellence in terms of quality, profitability, growth, expansion and
application of best practices in entrepreneurship.”

will be six categories for the award: Bedaya programme, Zeyada programme,
Khutwa programme, heritage sector, membership programme and the Best Emirati
Project of Non-beneficiaries of the Fund’s services.

Applications must be submitted by 29 August, and the winning
projects will be announced during a ceremony on 7 October.