UAE commits 12 fighter jets to enforce Libya no-fly zone

UAE Air Force sends six F-16s and six Mirage jets, official says they will start patrols in 'coming days'
UAE commits 12 fighter jets to enforce Libya no-fly zone
By Andy Sambidge
Fri 25 Mar 2011 10:39 AM

The UAE has committed a total of 12 fighter jets to support the UN resolution to enforce a no-fly zone over Libya, a top official confirmed on Friday.

Sheikh Abdulla bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Minister of Foreign Affairs, gave an update on the status of the UAE's participation in support of resolution saying it was extending its humanitarian operations in Libya.

In comments published by state news agency WAM, he add: "The UAE Air Force has committed six F-16 and six Mirage aircraft to participate in the patrols that will enforce the no-fly zone now established over Libya."

He said the UAE's participation in air patrols would start "in the coming days".

Qatar's Air Force on Friday said its warplanes has taken part in the UN-backed air patrols. On Sunday, Qatar offered to have four of its jets take part in missions over Libya.

The UAE announced last week that its role in Libya was strictly confined to the delivery of humanitarian assistance.

WAM reported that the UAE has, in coordination with Turkey, sent a ship loaded with medical and humanitarian aid to Libya.

Two UAE planes carrying humanitarian aid flew last week to Libya to contribute in efforts to ease suffering of the Libyan people by providing essential medicines and food.

For all the latest business news from the UAE and Gulf countries, follow us on Twitter and Linkedin, like us on Facebook and subscribe to our YouTube page, which is updated daily.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Subscribe to Arabian Business' newsletter to receive the latest breaking news and business stories in Dubai,the UAE and the GCC straight to your inbox.