We noticed you're blocking ads.

Keep supporting great journalism by turning off your ad blocker.

Questions about why you are seeing this? Contact us

Font Size

- Aa +

Fri 25 Sep 2015 10:54 AM

Font Size

- Aa +

UAE to host Pakistan Super League

Qatar likely to host some games in the tournament between February 4-24 next year.

UAE to host Pakistan Super League
Kevin Pietersen. (Getty Images)

The Pakistan Super League (PSL) is coming to the UAE in the new year, after officials agreed to host the majority of its matches in Dubai and Sharjah.

The competition organisers had previously agreed to host the competition in Qatar after dates clashed with the Masters Cricket League in February next year.

However, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) officials have managed negotiate dates with the Emirates Cricket Board to play most of the games in Dubai and Sharjah. The PCB is expected to agree to play some of the 24 matches in Qatar, in the 13,000 stadium in Doha.

At the official launch this week in Lahore, it was announced that the winners of the competition will win $10 million in prizemoney, with each player set to earn over $50,000 each.

The launch also saw the confirmation that former England batsman Kevin Pietersen will play in the tournament next year.

“Absolutely buzzing to be a part of the Pakistani mela (event) coming up in February," Pietersen said in a video announcement. “I can't wait to get it started. It looks like it is going to be a wonderful competition. Lots of fun, lots of sixes, lots of wickets, typical T20 stuff.

“I am really excited to be a part of this wonderful tournament and excited to get going. I will see you guys soon.”

Already confirmed to play in the tournament are Australian Brad Hodge, England’s Ravi Bopara, Luke Wright, Tim Bresnan, Jade Dernbach, Chris Jordan, West Indians Chris Gayle, Kierron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo and Sunil Narine, Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al-Hasan, New Zealand all-rounder Grant Elliot and Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews.

PSL tournament, which takes place between February 4-24 next, will have five teams from the provincial capitals of Islamabad, Karachi, Lahore, Peshawar and Quetta.

Arabian Business: why we're going behind a paywall

For all the latest lifestyle news from the UAE and Gulf countries, follow us on Twitter and Linkedin, like us on Facebook and subscribe to our YouTube page, which is updated daily.
Real news, real analysis and real insight have real value – especially at a time like this. Unlimited access ArabianBusiness.com can be unlocked for as little as $4.75 per month. Click here for more details.