Revealed: UAE holidays for 2020

Residents will get as many as 15 holidays next year
Revealed: UAE holidays for 2020
By Staff writer
Wed 11 Sep 2019 10:57 AM

UAE residents will have as many as 15 holidays in 2020, the government has announced.

The first holiday will be on January 1, New Year’s Day.

The following holiday is a three-day break Eid Al Fitr, which is expected to fall on May 23 or May 24.

The Eid Al Fitr break will be followed by a four-day break on Arafat Day and Eid Al Adha, which is expected to fall between July 29 and August 2.

New Hirji Year is expected to fall on August 19 or 20. Residents will also enjoy a one-day holiday for the Prophet Mohammad’s birthday, which will fall on October 28 or 29.

Because of the various lengths of Hijri months, Eid Al Fitr, Arafat Day, Eid Al Adha and the Prophet’s birthday may be at slightly different dates.

At the end of the year, residents will have a three-day holiday for Commemoration Day (December 1) and National Day (December 2 and 3).

  1. Prophet's Birthday (Al Mouled Al Nabawy): Rabeaa Al Awal 12
  2. Commemoration Day: November 30
  3. National Day: December 2-3

2020 Holidays (All dates in the Islamic calendar are subject to moon sighting)

  1. New Year: January 1
  2. Ramadan - April 24
  3. Eid Al Fitr - May 23 (Ramadan 29 - Shawwal 3)
  4. Arafat Day - July 30 (Zul Hijjah 9)
  5. Eid Al Adha - July 31 (Zul Hijjah 10-12)
  6. Hijri New Year - (Muharram 1)
  7. Birthday of Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) (Al Mouled Al Nabawy) - Rabeaa Al Awal 12
  8. Commemoration Day - November 30
  9. National Day - December 2-3

For all the latest business news from the UAE and Gulf countries, follow us on Twitter and Linkedin, like us on Facebook and subscribe to our YouTube page, which is updated daily.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Subscribe to Arabian Business' newsletter to receive the latest breaking news and business stories in Dubai,the UAE and the GCC straight to your inbox.